Kid’s Birthday Parties and Other Trials

Originally published January 26, 2007 at www.butterscotchmartinigirls.com
bday 2So my niece’s birthday party is tomorrow, and since my To Do list is longer than the list of diets I’ve tried over my lifetime, I’m just now getting around to figuring out what to get her.  This was one of those things I meant to do every day for the past two weeks and I just never quite got there.  So, first thing this morning, I’m out surfing Toys R Us online for toys for 2-year-olds and hoping like hell if I find a good one that it will actually be sitting in the store waiting for me when I get there.  A lot of people in my position would just run to the store, grab a present and be done with it.  But this little girl has a very special place in my heart and of course, I want her to love the present Aunt Tina & Uncle Jon got her!  (Yeah, yeah, I was just reminded that Cousin Darian as well as Rusty & Katie–our tabby cats–are giving this too.)  Too bad they aren’t all chipping in on the gift!

I call Roo the little miracle baby.  Her name is actually Megan, but she was born three months early and spent her first three months in an incubator at Phoenix Children’s Hospital (a place that definitely gets my donation dollars!!)  She was soooo tiny when she was born – in fact I have a picture of her next to a dollar bill – and she was no wider than the bill, and the bill went from her head to mid thigh.

bdayI got to be there while my sister was in labor, and this little tiny red bundle was born, and then she stretched out her long skinny little kangaroo legs and I immediately dubbed her “Roo.”  (By the way, if you don’t know who Roo is, you really need to brush up on your Winnie the Pooh! 🙂  Then for the next three months and even after she was able to come home, she had several of the normal “preemie” problems.  But now, she’s a beautiful blonde haired, blue eyed two year old with a constant stream of energy and an even bigger streak of curiosity and creativity to enable her to get into mischief 🙂

Now my poor sister and brother in law are in the line of fire, so to speak, but I get to be the Auntie who spoils her, and I’ll most likely be the Auntie who tells her all the stuff her parents won’t when she gets older…lol.  (Shhh!  Don’t tell my sister!)

Anyway, I digress.  Not sure if you’ve looked at Toys R Us or even the toys on Amazon lately but there are enough choices that it makes your head swim.  Not to mention that this little cutie has lots of toys already, so creative gift buying in order.  And unlike her Auntie, she isn’t a hard core tomboy – she’s an equal opportunity girl.  She likes dolls and pink and high heels and dress up as much as she likes trucks and getting dirty.

purseSo after an hour of surfing and reading reviews, I finally narrowed it down to My First Purse, which is a sturdy little purple and pink purse with fun plastic stuff inside like play lipstick and cell phone and keys etc.  and a GeoTrax:  Working Town Railway System which is a durable train and train track that can either be played manually or with a remote control, and makes cool noises that will probably get on my sister’s nerves – tee hee!  And best of all, there are several other sets that will hook into this one like an airport, a lifting barrel loader and other cool stuff.  I’m still wavering, but I guess it will come down to which one is sitting on the shelf when I get to Toys R Us, or worse – if neither is there, I have to start all over!!  Damn – me and my procrastination! 🙂

Anyway – once I figure this out – then the actual birthday party is tomorrow.  Party – no problem, throw in family from both sides and a few select friends…and I’m really looking forward to the male review Brit is taking us all to tomorrow night! 🙂

I know I should’ve asked this earlier, but does anyone know any great toys for a 2 year old cute & rambunctious girl? 🙂

Leave a Reply

