Lay Down Dates and Other Party Games…

Originally published July 20, 2007 at www.butterscotchmartinigirls.com
ceremony of seduction, tina gerow, cassie ryanAs most of you know, my first book as Cassie Ryan is getting ready to release.  And the Kensington Aprhodisia line usually has four books releasing a month.  So, when I saw on the loops yesterday that there were beginning to be Ceremony of Seduction sightings, as well as the other three books which are July 31st releases with mine, I wanted to go see for myself.  Before I could sign off my computer last night, an email popped in from a reader telling me how much they enjoyed Ceremony of Seduction, and asking when the next one would be out.

Okay – great news that people are already liking it.  And fan mail is always better than “YOU SUCK” mail 🙂  So, today, I headed down to my local book store.  The other three books set to release with mine are on the shelf and available to buy, but mine was nowhere to be found.  When I asked at the desk they said it was still listed as not yet released.  Hmmm, okay.  I asked if it had a hard laydown date and I got a deer in the headlights look.

tina gerow, cassie ryan, vision of seductionFor those of you not familiar with a laydown date, let me give you a quick tutorial, at least as far as I understand it.  A laydown date is the date the book can hit the shelves.  Usually bookstores don’t follow them as law unless the publisher ensures the date is followed.  And for an author’s first book – as you might have guessed, most publishers don’t push too much to ensure it is followed.  So, why the big deal with laydown dates?  Tracking for lists (you know, NYT Bestsellers, USA Today and etc) starts at the laydown date, so any sales before that date don’t count toward making the lists.  Now, you might not think a new author (or one with a new pen name) is in any danger of this happening – but you never know!  And it helps to understand how these things work.

trio of seduction, tina gerow, cassie ryanAnyway, back to our story.  From the first bookstore, I headed over to the second close-by store.  Nope – none of my books there either and once again, when I mentioned laydown date I got the deer in the headlights look.  Sigh…  All they could tell me was that maybe it will release closer to the July 31st date.

So, what have I learned?  Well – my book is out there somewhere, and people are reading it and liking it 🙂  Which is definitely good news!  But if you want to help me get a fun, hot, irreverent book onto the lists – mark your calendar for July 31st and go grab a copy of Ceremony of Seduction then 🙂

How’s that for shameless self promotion?  LOL!

Leave a Reply

