This One Time at Band Camp…

Yes, I’ll admit it.  I was a band geek for most of my life, and damned proud of it :)

And I even went to band camp–NAU Summer Music Camp–from the time I was going into the sixth grade until I was a camp counselor my first two years into college.  In fact I have a ton of very fond memories of my time up there.  Not only was it great to get out of the Phoenix heat and hang out up in Flagstaff with the pine trees and the cooler temperatures, and get to play some terrific music, and see all the really cute guys who went, and get to see friends from previous years, but it was also a fun chance to live in the dorms and get away from home.  Sort of a taste of independence where you were treated like an adult every summer.  And my few years as a counselor were even more fun–in fact, I remember doing a “briefs” raid on the male counselors…lol.  Ahhh, memories. :)

Why am I frolicking down memory lane all of a sudden?

My kidlet and his best friend are headed off to NAU band camp early tomorrow.  Now, this will be the third year for my kiddo–and I guess it’s even weirder because he’s going to be in the 9th grade this year, which is really strange for me.  I mean, I remember high school like it was yesterday!

Yes, I do realize that I attended my twenty year reunion back in 2006, but it feels so recent that I was just starting high school and going through everything he is!  And now, my baby, my little guy, who is now taller than me is…getting older and dragging me with him!  WTH?!?  :)

Just seems very odd I suppose, because I don’t feel old enough to have a kid in high school.

But I digress.  Anyway today will be filled with laundry and packing lists and getting munchies for the dorm, and listening to my son and his friend practice their chair audition music all day.  And since the hubby is traveling and doesn’t get home until late tonight–I’m herding cats…er…organizing the boys on my own.  Fun, fun, fun.  :)

But before all that–I’m off to write and then have a quick lunch with my sister and niece.

Does anyone else have kids going off to camp and/or high school?

Leave a Reply

