Tina Gerow Talks Getting Kinky in a Room Full of Men

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

With the BDSM, the challenge is to find new, fresh, fun things that I haven’t used before and keep the balance between romance, sex, suspense and secondary plots.  An even bigger challenge is just getting the butt in the chair and writing.  My son is off for the summer and hubby is off work for a few months.  Having them underfoot makes it tougher for me to tune out the world and get my kink on like clockwork like Ineed to!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I have MANY.  Ithink my all time favorite author has to be Jane Austen.  I love that she wrote stories back when women weren’t supposed to do that.  And while she did write about relationships, she also highlighted politics and the climate and culture of the time.  I could only hope that any of my books are as beloved and as relevant as hers a few hundred years after my death. 🙂

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I used to.  Before my brain blowout Iattended the Romantic Times Conference every year and did several smaller conferences every year.  Since I no longer drive, and I’m still fully recovering from the AVM rupture fallout, I haven’t been to too many conferences in the last few years, but I hope to change that soon.  I’m planning to attend the Desert Dreams conference in April 2016 in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Who designed the covers?

For all my small press and New York published books the publisher designed my covers.  Ihad input into them, but they didn’t always USE my input.  Which is pretty normal in the business.  For my only self published book – Sleeping With Shadows, a paranormal romantic suspense, my good friend and critique partner, Kayce Lassiter designed my beautiful cover!

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part for me before my brain blowout was always the middle.  Iusually had a good beginning and Ialready had the end in mind.  It was keeping the middle from lagging, and keeping the pacing, suspense and love connection moving that was the challenge.  AFTER my brain blowout, it’s much harder to keep all the details in my brain.  So I have spreadsheets and notes for everything.  I’ll brainstorm with my critique group, and if I don’t immediately write the scenes OR take really detailed notes, it leaks out of my brain and is lost.

2 responses to “Tina Gerow Talks Getting Kinky in a Room Full of Men

  1. I’m thinking I may never forget that quote now…”get my kink on like clockwork”. LOL

  2. Beautiful cover! Nice job, Kayce Lassiter! A woman of many talents.

    As for the hardest part of writing for me Tina, it’s the same as you. And just so you’ll know, I didn’t have a brain blowout, but I have to write everything out on a chart too, otherwise I’ll forget.

    Beautiful blog layout. Glad you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

